The Struggle is Real!!

As we start our nightly bed routine, which includes tears, multiple trips to the kitchen to get a drink of water and the inability to stay on track… Life with two children who have been diagnosed with ADHD is always an adventure.

I call it herding chickens, one goes one way and the other the complete opposite. Oh the joys of motherhood. “He’s still not in the shower mom” from my youngest….. “But MOM!!!!! I don’t want to take a shower tonight” from my 10 year old ADHD son…. He is tired but fighting every step. This son of mine has always had difficulty going to bed at night. We have tried almost everything in the past 10 years to get this child of mine to go to bed at a decent time.

The best thing I have found is a nice solid ROUTINE…. But sometimes the routine goes haywire… The joys of being a mother with ADHD herself. Our lives run on a schedule, most people look at me funny when they see my planner. It has everything and I mean everything scheduled throughout the day.On top of the planner, I have multiple alarms set in an attempt to stay on track.  Some times it works and some times it doesn’t.  Tonight is one of those nights where it didn’t. Oh well, we will try again tomorrow night….

Oh, and yes he finally took his nightly shower and tucked into bed, fast asleep…. All is well in my world.

Children are a heritage from the Lordoffspring a reward from him. Psalm 127:3

Leave a Reply

