Never Stop

This is the excerpt for your very first post.

Hello everyone,

As I start this adventure in the blogging world; I am at a loss for words. I have thought about doing a blog for some time now. With the thought of being a help to someone, some where. So here is a little about me and my background.

I am a Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor in Kentucky. I have worked primarily with children and adolescents over the past several years.  I honestly thought I had a good handle on everything. You know balancing work life and home life into perfect harmony.  Being a counselor is part of who I am, it’s not just something that I do for a living. By nature I want to help and heal people; often times at the expense of my own health and sometimes sanity.

My life over the past decade has been a blur. I had my oldest child at the age of 28, followed by my middle child at age 33 and my youngest at age 34. My close friends and family often tease me about the fact that my youngest two children are 11 months apart. They also use this fact to boost me up when I am feeling like a failure. During my pregnancies with my youngest children I was attending college. As a matter of fact my youngest child was born the night of my Pinning Ceremony from Lindsey Wilson College. I had finally made it— I had my Bachelor of Arts. I had spent many years starting and stopping college (life happens), before I figured out what I wanted to be when I grew up. That was 2007 and in 2009 I graduated from Lindsey Wilson with my Masters of Education in Counseling and Human Development. The funny part: my graduation was on my baby’s 2nd birthday.

Now I am going to tell you that it has been smooth sailing since graduation— NO, it’s not. I interviewed at 150 different places, looking for employment as a counselor, I was told 150 times one of the following: too much experience for the job that I had applied for or not enough experience. At one point the No’s almost got the best of me. But I didn’t lose sight. I had spent 6 years of my life working toward my dream and I was not going to stop until I got it. In 2013 I went to work for a local agency, where I had the opportunity to sharpen my clinical skills and develop my own personal counseling style.

In short, never stop believing in yourself, don’t let No be the final answer to any question that God has placed in your heart.

One of my favorite Verses: I can do all things through Christ who strengtheneth me. PHILIPPIANS 4:13

Leave a Reply

